The Truth About Curls, Paul Mitchell Curl Series – Review

This review will be a little different because instead of just discussing a single product, I’m covering a whole line! Just so you know, my overall opinion of the Paul Mitchell Curls Line is that it ROCKS!!!

12so_paul-mitchell-curls_final_page_04

Okay….. Lets get down to business & start this REVIEW!

Shampoo

Spring Loaded 
Detangling Shampoo – S$21.50

ZERO SULFATES / ZERO FRIZZ

Basics:

Rich lather gently cleanses curls without roughing up the cuticle.

Benefits:

Prepares curls for a frizz-free finish.

Bonus:

Ultra-moisturizing and sulfate-free.

Details:

  • A mild, soothing blend of sulfate-free surfactants gently cleanses curls.
  • Extreme moisturizing and conditioning agents leave hair soft and manageable so curls always look their best.

Ingredients: Water (Eau, Aqua), Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Disodium Laureth Sulfosuccinate, Glycerin, Cocamide MEA, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Myristamidopropyl PG-Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Glycol Distearate, Laureth-4, PEG-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, Divinyldimethicone/Dimethicone Copolymer, C12-13 Pareth-23, C12-13 Pareth-3, Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate, Polyquaternium- 7, Polyquaternium-59, Butylene Glycol, Amodimethicone, C11-15 Pareth-7, Laureth-9,Trideceth- 12, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone, Phenyl Trimethicone, Polyquaternium-67, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Magnesium Nitrate, Magnesium Chloride, Fragrance (Parfum), Limonene (sulfate free, paraben free, protein free)

IMO: Let me start this review by saying that if you use the whole line (The Truth About Curls) all together (Spring Loaded Detangling Shampoo, Full Circle Leave In Treatment, and one of the stylers either Twirl Around Crunch Free Curl Definer or Ultimate Wave) they all work AMAZINGLY SUPERB altogether!

However, I don’t really like the shampoo -though the shampoo cleans the hair and scalp well, Paul Mitchell actually claims this product to be detangling (thus the name of the product) but the WHOLE truth is that -it really doesn’t. The consistency of the shampoo itself is quite thick and a bit sticky which is not exactly “appropriate?” to provided the necessary slip to detangle the hair. I actually have to mix it with water to make it watery & bubble up to shampoo my hair. The feeling oh having to do that each time is damn annoying.  But then, it smells great and it cleans well and I like it. So for me this particular product is either a love it or hate it product. 😛

I “sort of” don’t like the shampoo that Paul Mitchell came up with that actually “says” it will detangle (because the idea of a shampoo that could detangle without the need to use a conditioner is really awesome don’t you agree?), but too bad it just doesn’t -at least, not for me. But it’s a great shampoo, either a love or hate it product.Nov13FullCircle

Full Circle Leave-In Treatment – S$23.65

FRIZZ-FREE CURL THERAPY

Basics:

Lightweight conditioning treatment won’t weigh hair down.

Benefits:

Do-it-all formula hydrates, detangles and tames frizz.

Bonus:

Replenishes thirsty locks and helps protect against damage.

Details:

  • A smoothing, detangling lightweight conditioner helps replenish every curl.
  • Creamy formula creates a silky smooth surface.

Ingredients- Water (Eau, Aqua), Cetearyl Alcohol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Propylene Glycol, Behentrimonium Chloride, Glyceryl Stearate, Behenyl Alcohol, Palmitic Acid, Stearic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Lecithin, Lauryl Alcohol, Fragrance (Parfum), Citral, Geraniol, Hexyl Cinnamal, Limonene, Myristyl Alcohol, Panthenol, Cetyl Alcohol, Methylisothiazolinone, Argania Spinosa (Argan) Kernel Oil, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Butylene Glycol (sulfate free, paraben free, protein free, glycerin free)

IMO: I’M LURVINGGGGGGGGG THIS THANG!!! I use it after I’ve shampoo my hair with the Spring Loaded Detangling Shampoo (which didn’t detangle, btw xP) at the end of my shower. It’s just the right consistency for a leave in, not too thin, not too thick, and it coated my curly wurly hair so soooooo so well. It made them soft and bouncy and not at all heavy or greasy. Oh and if you dye your hair & realize that it’s dry or feel as though as the curls are frizzy? I apply a generous amount on my wet hair & wrap them in a towel so that my hair can “soak” em up. After about 30mins I’ll remove the towel & leaving the hair to air dry & once its dry you can feel the difference before & after doing the steps that I mentioned. I love the delicate smell of this baby very sweet & floral. If you do it right the smell lingeres all day makes you feel like you’ve gone to the salon & have them wash your hair! Yes, it’s that good! lolx xP

Twirl AroundTwirl Around – S$27.95

CRUNCH-FREE CURL DEFINER

Basics:

Dual formula swirls together hydrating cream and smoothing gel.

Benefits:

Defines, separates and tames unruly curls and waves without frizz or crunchiness.

Bonus:

Helps curls retain their bounce all day long.

Details:

  • Smoothing, conditioning, softening conditioners keep curls looking their best.
  • Crunch-free fixative leaves curls soft and touchable.

Ingredients- Water (Eau, Aqua), Glycerin, Isohexadecane, VP/Dimethylaminoethylmethacrylate Copolymer, Cetyl Alcohol, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Stearyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Cetrimonium Chloride, PEG-12 Dimethicone, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Sodium PCA, Fragaria Ananassa (Strawberry) Seed Oil, Orbignya Oleifera Seed Oil, TriticumVulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Sambucus Nigra (Elderberry) Seed Oil, Ribes Nigrum (Black Currant) Bud Wax, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Polysorbate 60, Panthenol, Phenyl Trimethicone, Sclerotium Gum, Carbomer, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Aminomethyl Propanol, Polyquaternium-4, Quaternium-80, Disodium EDTA, Potassium Sorbate, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Methylisothiazolinone, Fragrance (Parfum), Benzyl Benzoate, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Citral, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Geraniol, Hydroxycitronellal, Hydroxyisohexyl 3-Cyclohexene Carboxaldehyde, Limonene (sulfate free, paraben free)

IMO: I don’t fancy gels, but I love this stuff, so that should tell you how good it is! It gave me great curl definition and shine and no crunch at all. Just lovely, long lasting hold. I really put this product to the test as you know Singapore is a humid with only rain or shine weather, I used it regardless the temperature & Singapore’s weather condition yet it still kept my hair completely frizz free. I love how it was able to control and define my curls & form beautiful ringlets as if I’ve got time to actually curl my small section by small section. I can dance or shake my head vigorously yet my hair still have that great shape and movement. This definitely IS already in my Holy Grail list! 😛

Texture wise you can really feel its light weight & oil free base. Doesn’t even have the sticky feeling when you apply it on your head with obviously your hands 😛 best part is it doesn’t make your hair look wet-like like MOST curling creams or gels & definitely no crunchy “hard” feeling on your hair. -which I LURVE!

Ultimate WaveUltimate Wave – S$18.30

BEACHY TEXTURE CREAM-GEL

Basics:

Secret weapon for creating sexy, tousled beach waves.

Benefits:

Forms, separates and adds loads of texture.

Bonus:

Humidity-resistant for perfectly imperfect frizz-free styles.

Details:

  • Strengthening, smoothing and texture building conditioners help create touchable waves.
  • Soothing and smoothing mushroom extract fights frizz.

IMO: Now, onto the Ultimate Wave. Whats the difference with Ultimate Wave & Twirl Around is obviously in the price wise :P.  This styler’s texture is like a gel (thick gel to be exact).  For my hair I don’t really like this one cuz of the feeling when I apply it. It feels like wax? Kinda hard for me to work through my hair. Prolly will be suitable for those wavey hair people that would like to have wavey beach hair? Otherwise this still controls my frizz.

Overall Paul Mitchell’s Curl Series (The Truth About Curls) have almost similar scent to each of their products that keeps you feeling fresh & smelling good. My boyfriend definitely love to sniff my head lol 😛

Okay that’s all for this’s week’s review!

Until the next review babes!

I love you!

Oh?! Before I forgot here’s a picture of me & my hair 😛

IMG_3634

Loads of Love

thelilazngrl (xoxo)

8 thoughts on “The Truth About Curls, Paul Mitchell Curl Series – Review”

  1. hi..
    can I know where you purchased this line? i am interested to purchase the twirl around. thanks

    1. Hi! These can be found at Salons only. If ure staying in Singapore u can actually go to Far East Plaza and ask around the salons there. Mostly are supplied with Paul Mitchell’s mind u salon price can be pricey.

      1. Hi. Thanks for replyinng.
        I checked at Bishan, the price for twirl around is around SGD 50. Can I know the name of the shop you get it from? The price you put here is so much cheaper than what I found

      2. Hi yes! The salon are selling at tht price. I got it cheap as the supplier of where salons get the product happens to be a customer of mine who uses our Warehouse to store they’re goods. Sadly they’ve left our warehouse already and I’m not able to get the staff price anymore

  2. There is a conditioner in this line–perhaps if you’d followed your shampooing with the conditioner, you would have been more pleased with the outcome of the shampoo.

    1. Hey! Thanks for reading my post & commenting on it! Yup, when i first tried this line it was introduced without the conditioner. Only recently it came in with the conditioner. But still I don’t like the shampoo the consistency is just too thick to try have it to lather. I guess its just not for me? But the other product aside from the shampoo works gorgeous on me.

      Are u using this line as well, Allison?

Leave a comment